A Skincare Essential: A Dermalogica Precleanse Review

Believe it or not, sometimes I wear a lot of makeup (insert sarcasm font). Primer, foundation, concealer, bronzer, blush, highlighter, powder. And let’s not even start on the eyes. A regular cleanser alone does not do the job for me. I need something that will cut through the MAC Face and Body foundation, dissolve layers of Benefit Hoola and say to NARS Copacabana “Okay, you’ve had your turn. Get off this face.”

I need Dermalogica Precleanse.

I first met Precleanse when I was in Esthetics school. We were trained on the Dermalogica line, and our tuition included a good amount of products. When I heard that there was something to remove makeup before cleansing, my first thought was “Another friggin’ step?!?!” I’ll gladly go through fifteen steps for a makeup look, but I like my skincare routine to be more streamlined.

Then I started using Precleanse. Gone were the days when I’d cleanse and tone, only to look at the toner cotton pad, see makeup residue and have to cleanse again. Using Precleanse is like rinsing the dishes before putting them in the dishwasher. They’re guaranteed to come out clean, even if you’re thinking “This a pain in the ass” while you’re doing it.

Here’s how you do it–dispense a little into your hand, and apply to dry skin. Massage the product in, then wet your fingertips and massage more. Rinse off with lukewarm water, then cleanse as you normally would. I tend to avoid putting too much on the eye area because it can sting a bit. *Note: If you have contacts, take them out first. This is an oily product, so it will cloud up your lenses.*

If you wear anything other than moisturizer on your skin, using Precleanse at night is a good idea. Otherwise you’re probably letting traces of makeup sit on your skin while you’re sleeping, allowing it to happily partner  up with oils and dirt and cause breakouts.

You can buy Precleanse at www.Dermalogica.com or use the Store Locator on the site to find a salon or spa near you that sells it. It’s $38.00, but you only need a small amount. I bought a bottle last fall, and I still have plenty left.

Used it before? Love it? Hate it? Let me know!

Have a beautiful day 🙂

Leave a Reply

