It’s The Balm: Phyto Botanical Relaxing Hair Balm Review

“You always want what you can’t have.”  But who’s to say what we can’t have? I want straight, frizz-free hair and I am going to have it.  At least with a little help from my friend, Botanical Relaxing Hair Balm by Phyto.

My thick, long hair is naturally curly.  A few years ago, I decided I no longer liked the curls, so I’ve been blowdrying and flat ironing it into submission since.  But because my hair’s natural tendency is to go into spiral curls, I often have to fight it.  It rebels by frizzing, I tame the frizz with hair creams and sprays.  Sometimes I win, sometimes my hair wins.

When I had the chance to try the Botanical Relaxing Hair Balm, I thought “I’m winning the next battle.”  I was a little nervous about trying something with the word “relaxing” in it though.  You’d think such a word would calm a person, but for me, it conjured up horror stories of salon relaxers and straighteners that broke, fried, or otherwise damaged hair.  So I showed the product and directions to my hair stylist and good friend, Jennie Kay Plumb, and got the okay.

So here’s how it works: After shampooing and conditioning, you put a dime-sized amount of the product into your hand, then apply to hair, starting at the roots.  Then you comb it through with a wide toothed comb.  The product itself has a nice smell and doesn’t make your hair feel greasy or crunchy, but it does feel a little sticky on your hands.

The first time I used it, I let my hair air dry and flat ironed it the next morning.  The second time, I blowdried it straight (or as straight as I can get it), then flat ironed.  Both times I had, without a doubt, minimal to no frizz.  I was thrilled!  The real test will be in the summer, when humidity traditionally forces  me to wear my hair up, so I will try the product again then.  But until June, I’m totally happy with the Botanical Hair Relaxing Balm.  As a plus, it does not contain parabens, sulfates, synthetic fragrances, synthetic dyes, petrochemicals or phthalates, which makes me like it even more.

$12 for a 1.6 oz tube, $26 for a 3.3 oz, and $32 for a 5 0z. http://sephora.com/browse/product.jhtml?id=P2895&categoryId=C13320

Have a beautiful day 🙂

Leave a Reply

