A Little Bit Of This, A Little Bit Of That: Part 2

More beauty sample reviews:

Sample 1: Girl Meets Pearl highlighter by Benefit

I love a good highlighting product. I think it adds a little something extra to your look and there are so many out there to choose from. There are liquids, powders, creams and highlighting products that come in stick form. Girl Meets Pearl is “liquid pearl for the face.” Now that’s not something you hear every day. (Unless you work at Benefit.)

It’s a very pretty highlighter and definitely more on the subtle side. I took a picture of myself when I had it on (by itself, with no other makeup) and it seems to be photography-friendly. I love the smell of it–I don’t know if that’s the raspberry and chamomile that they tout, or something else. It does feel heavy on bare skin and seemed to take a while to absorb. I don’t mind that too much for myself, but I don’t like to use anything that feels heavy on clients. It also has a lot of parabens listed in the ingredients and I try to stay away from them. But this may be a great product for some people, I’m not knocking it.

Sample 2: Jack Black Double-Duty Face Moisturizer SPF 20

I’ll just get right to it–I really like this moisturizer! It’s lightweight and absorbs immediately, but definitely moisturizes. It says it does not contain fragrance, but I think it smells like soap with a hint of men’s shaving cream at first, then it smells more herbal once it absorbs. Jack Black is “the grooming label for guy’s guys,” but I’m not going to let that stop me. The description says it does not contain parabens, sulfates, synthetic fragrances, etc., but the ingredients label lists “methylparaben” as an ingredient. Yes, the jury is still out on the effect of parabens, but it seems weird to me that a product would claim to be paraben-free, then list one in its ingredients. Or maybe I’m missing something…

Whatever the case is, I do like this moisturizer, and I think it’s a good choice for a guy’s guy or a girl’s girl.

Sample 3: DERMAdoctor Wrinkle Revenge Rescue & Protect Eye Balm

Sounds badass, right? I don’t have any wrinkles, but I believe the key is using anti-aging products before you start visibly aging. I know it can be hard to justify purchasing products when you can’t see results, but if you don’t have wrinkles and use a product but don’t see any change in how you look, that is a result. Do you follow me?

I have an eye cream that I love, but I’m always trying new things just in case there’s something better out there. I tried the Eye Balm on three different nights, and here’s what happened.

Night 1: I applied it, and it made me feel a little itchy, but I had also put on some night face cream first, so I figured I just got some of that near my eye. I applied it to one eye area, because I planned on using it all week and wanted to see if I could tell a difference between the eye cream eye and the non-eye cream eye.
Night 2: I forgot about my one eye experiment and applied to both eyes. No itchiness. It’s all good.
Night 3: Repeat of Night 2. But when I woke up in the morning, I had red marks on the corners of both of my eyes. They looked like chemical burns to me and I have gotten them from other eye creams before. It took 5 days for them to fade and about 5 seconds for me to throw the rest of the sample in the trash.

I try a lot of samples, and I very rarely have a reaction. So in a survey, I’d have to say I Strongly Dislike this eye cream.

That’s it for now. The samples never stop coming, so this will be an ongoing type of post.

Have a beautiful day 🙂

Leave a Reply

