T-Zone Trouble?

It would be great to have normal, always clear, flawless skin, but I haven’t been blessed with skin perfection. I have combination skin, which gets pretty t-zone oily in the summer and dried-out-peeling in the winter. But like most things in life, I’ve tried to find a way to use my skin type to my advantage. Having this combo skin allows me to, at different points in the year, test out products and techniques for oily, dry, and acne-prone skin.

Where I live (in New England) summer is over. But the memories of what I have to do in the warmer months to fake balanced skin are still fresh in my mind. So if you have oily skin year-round, or just seasonally, read on!

1) The first step in most of my makeup applications is eye primer. If you have oily skin on your face, chances are your eyelids are oily too. Since that’s part of the reason eyeshadows can crease and fade (other culprits may be creamy formulas and cheapo shadows in general), an eye primer can make a huge difference in how your eye makeup wears during the day. Unless your eyelids are very dry, I recommend an eye primer. I use Too Faced Shadow Insurance, sometimes topped with a MAC Paint Pot if someone has especially oily lids.

2) If I have a long day coming up and always for wedding clients with oily skin, I use two skin primers. One is the De-Slick Oil Control Makeup Setting Spray by Urban Decay (I use this as a primer, and then at the end to set makeup). I also use a second one, usually Laura Mercier Oil Free Foundation Primer. One of the big problems with oily skin is that the oils from the skin break down products, causing them to wear off more quickly than they would on a normal or dry skin. Using a primer first puts an extra layer between the skin and the foundation. The ingredients in that primer layer are meant to absorb some of the oils and keep them from going through the foundation, which causes it to wear off.

3) I use liquid foundation, mainly because I don’t like powder foundation as a base and the foundation I use works on oily skin. I usually use the Make Up For Ever HD foundation, but if you’re looking for a different liquid foundation, something matte or medium-full coverage is your best bet. You want to stay away from anything with light-reflecting particles, as they can just add shine to your skin.

4) To powder oily skin, I love using Make Up For Ever Super Matte Loose Powder on oily areas. Powders sets the makeup and cuts shine, so it’s a must for oily skin.

5) To touch up during the day, you can go with oil blotting sheets (I’ve found them all to be the same, so I just buy the cheapest) if your skin is seasonally or slightly oily. For a very oily skin, you might want to try using a powder foundation as your touchup during the day. Estee Lauder Double Wear Stay In Place Powder is a good option, as is MAC Studio Fix Powder Plus Foundation. Using a powder foundation in areas where your foundation has faded will cover the fading and even your skin out.

So, those are the makeup techniques I’ve found to be the most helpful. It’s also really important to take good care of your skin (no matter what your skin type is). If you have oily skin, you’ll want to look for a cleanser made for oily skin, and use a lotion as opposed to a cream for your moisturizer. For night time, you’re better off using a serum than a cream. Exfoliation is important because it will help remove some of the surface oils and a mask that contains clay can help absorb the oils.

If you’ve got oily skin and have any tips, please share!

Have a beautiful day 🙂

Leave a Reply

