Back In The Day

I’m a history geek. I’ve always loved learning about different time periods, I devour historical fiction books and I’m pretty convinced I lived a past life in the 1920s. When my family talks about our relatives arriving at Ellis Island, or those who fought in WWII, or life growing up in the 1950s and 60s, I am all ears. I love vintage jewelery and feel very much “myself” in retro styles from the 1940s, 50s, and early 60s.

My fascination with times past spills over into my makeup artist work. One of my favorite things to do as a makeup artist is to learn about and re-create looks from different time periods. I have been really into researching and re-creating period looks lately, so guess where that information is going to end up? This will be the first in a series of blog posts about beauty looks in America from the 1920s through today. I will concentrate more on makeup, since that’s my area of expertise, but will include info about hair styles when possible.

Cosmetics have been around for centuries–you can thank the ancient Egyptians for the black kohl liner look–but I’m going to focus on the 1920s and later. This is partially because cosmetics became more readily available after WWI and partially because there weren’t many pictures (and no color pictures) of beauty looks until well into the 20th century. I think it will be helpful to show pictures of beauty icons from different decades along with the posts, in case my writing is unclear or you’re not in the mood to read 🙂

Part of the reason I love learning about makeup and hair from different decades is because so much of what we see today takes its inspiration from the past. Celebrities like Adele, Gwen Stefani and Katy Perry wear some of the more obvious throwback looks and you can see retro inspiration in runway shows each season. But little nuggets of retro-ness show up more subtly in many looks. It’s hard for me to do a cherry red lip without thinking of 1950s pinup girls and a bright blush applied high on the cheekbones automatically reminds me of the 1980s.

Hopefully you’ll enjoy reading these posts as much as I’m sure I’ll enjoy writing them. Now time to decide what decade I want to be today…

Have a beautiful day 🙂

Leave a Reply

