Pinteresting

I’ll admit that I am not the fastest when it comes to “new” social media sites. I was on MySpace for way longer than I should have been and had a hard time transitioning to Facebook. I reluctantly joined Twitter and still don’t use it as much as I should, and I only created a Tumblr account a month ago. I had heard about all of these long before I joined, but I was hesitant. I like the idea of simplifying what I have and coming up with yet another username and password didn’t quite jive with that.

But I am also a curious person. So when I kept hearing about Pinterest and how addicting it was, I had to see for myself. So I created an account…and I love it. For those of you not familiar with Pinterest, it’s a site where you create visual collections of things that you like. The images go on “boards” that you can name whatever you want (they give you examples like “My Style”, “For The Home”, “Books To Read”, etc.) You can upload your own images or “re-pin” them from other boards. You can re-pin from people you’re following or by searching the Pinterest boards. When you search the boards, you can re-pin images from people you are not following.

It’s similar to Tumblr, but my brain likes to compartmentalize things, so the different boards are great. (Maybe there is a way to do this in Tumblr too, I don’t know enough about it.) Anyway, the reason I’m telling you about this in my beauty blog is that three of the five boards I’ve created so far are related to beauty. The “Bridal Inspiration” board is loaded with hair and makeup ideas for brides and bridesmaids (which many of my bridal clients look at before their appointments with me). The “Looks I Love!” board is a collection of hair and makeup photos that inspire me and might give others ideas for different looks. The “Beauty Must Haves” board shows many of the products I use and love. If you’re planning a wedding, renovating your house, or are working on any type of project, it’s a great place to store your visual ideas without taking up space on your hard drive.

If you want to jump on the Pinterest bandwagon, you can request an invite from Pinterest, or I can send you one (email me at AllisonBarbera@AllisonBarbera.com if you want to do that). If you’re a visual person, I think you’ll love this site. Like the Pinterest people say, “Happy Pinning!”

This is me 🙂 http://pinterest.com/alliebmakeup

Have a beautiful day 🙂

Leave a Reply

