Lashing Out: Tarte MultiplEYE Lash Primer & Natural Lash Enhancing Mascara Review

I do a lot of mascara reviews, because, hey, I love mascara. I am serious about lashes. So a decent mascara just doesn’t cut it for me. I need length, lots of volume, and staying power.

My wonderful cousin, Maria, gave me a Christmas gift that included a sample bag of Tarte products. The MultiplEYE Lash Primer and MultiplEYE Natural Lash Enhancing Mascara were part of this bag, so of course, I tried them first. Some primer and mascara combos share one double-ended tube, but the Tarte pair are independent. That’s a trait I admire.

The primer is white, like every other lash primer I’ve ever encountered. The wand is a standard, narrow wand, but it has a tapered tip. This allows the product to get to the lash roots, which is where the volume building starts. The mascara looks the same, but it’s black. (Disclaimer: I used the trial sized primer and mascara, but I’m guessing the full size is just a magnified version. The wands are usually the same.)

I’ve been using these two products for a few weeks, and I prefer to do the primer then mascara on my top lashes. I did one try with just the mascara on the top lashes and it was good, but they definitely work better together. On my bottom lashes, I usually only the mascara. There is definitely a difference with the primer, but unless I’m going for a certain look, I usually want less volume and length on my bottom lashes anyway.

The mascara alone is on the dry side, but when it’s applied over the primer, it doesn’t seem dry. The two together make a huge difference in length and volume. With only two or three coats, I’m able to get a ton of drama. Several times, people have asked me if I was wearing false lashes when I’ve had this combo on. I’ve experienced zero flaking or smudging issues with this mascara (even on my bottom lashes, where I use the mascara sans primer), nor is it especially difficult to remove.

My only complaint is that it’s not quite as pigmented as I like. But that’s an easy fix–a coat or two of a super black mascara does the trick.

I like the primer and the mascara so much that I’m going to actually buy them! They will be allowed into my Elite Lash Club, which only includes Dior Diorshow, Make Up Forever Smoky Lash, and Clinique High Lengths. If we’re talking a 1-10 scale here, this primer and mascara combo gets a 9.

You can buy Tarte products at Sephora.

Leave a Reply

