Plump, Plump It Up: Buxom Big & Healthy Lip Polish Review


There are some absurdly tiny things about me–namely my wrists, my feet, and my top lip. In pictures where I am smiling, the lip is pretty much nonexistent. So I’ve always been one to eagerly try lip plumping products. I know that I will never have Angelina, Scarlett or Rosie lips, but a little help would be nice.

I recently tried Buxom Big & Healthy Lip Polish from Bare Escentuals, to see if it lived up to its name. I’d like to think my lips are healthy, but big they are not. I tried the color Sugar, which is a gorgeous rose glow luster. The amount of shimmer or crystals or whatever they have shot through this shade is perfect. The particles are small, so you don’t get that chunky glitter look. Very, very pretty.

The packaging is cute and simple, and the doe-foot wand gives the right amount of product. It smells like vanilla, which I love. This gloss is slightly sticky, but a gloss has to be to stay on. But again, the stickyness factor is really low, and my hair did not get stuck in the gloss once! (If you have medium to long hair, you know exactly what I’m talking about.) The formula was not drying, which I appreciate, because dry lips are never attractive. Nor does it leave a white residue after a few hours, which some glosses can do. And man, does this stuff stay on! I only had to re-apply a few times during the whole day, way less than with any other gloss I’ve tried.

As far as the plumping factor, it did give my lips a little boost. Sometimes just a shiny, shimmery gloss alone will give the illusion of fullness, because it attracts light to the area, but I’d like to think something in this product actually increased the size of my lips. It has a cooling, menthol feeling, which I much prefer to the stinging, burning feeling some lip plumpers give.

Overall, I really liked this product. It’s $18, which I think is reasonable. Oftentimes with glosses, you get what you pay for. A $4 gloss may seem like a bargain, until it wears off after 20 minutes.

You can get this gloss anywhere they sell Bare Escentuals products, including Sephora. This is is good product if you want a subtle plumping effect, and it is great if you are looking for a long-lasting gloss. Pucker up…

2 thoughts on “Plump, Plump It Up: Buxom Big & Healthy Lip Polish Review

Leave a Reply

