In The Name of the Father, The Son and The Holy Eyeliner: Topshop Eyeliner Review

If you are Catholic, a history buff, or an excellent Trivial Pursuit or Jeopardy player, you may have heard of Saint Maria Goretti. I also have a cousin named Maria Goretti, who I consider to be the Patron Saint of Makeup Gifts. She mails me surprise makeup packages, like Lipstick Queen glosses, Sonia Kashuk eyeshadows and Kevyn Aucoin books. She also emails me links to great makeup articles and blogs.

My Saint Maria Goretti and I both share a love for beautiful makeup, quality skincare products, Sephora and YouTube tutorials done by Lisa Eldridge and the Pixiwoos. A few years ago, Saint Maria told me that having a makeup artist in the family was better than having a doctor in the family. Hence her nickname for me, Dr. Allison Barbera.

Saint Maria recently sent me a brown kohl pencil eyeliner from Topshop. It is in a color called Saddle, and we had both heard about it from a Pixiwooos review. It was on my mile long list of products to try, but before I had the chance to order it, it came to my mailbox one happy day.

I use brown eyeliner on some clients, but very rarely on my own eyes. I tend to go for black, because my eyes are brown and my lashes and eyebrows are black, so most browns just don’t do anything for me. But this Topshop eyeliner in Saddle is something special. The color is a deep bronze brown with red metallic undertones, and it is spectacular. It draws on easily, without pulling on the skin and is easy to smudge, if that’s the look you are going for. But I found that when I drew a more defined line, it still stayed in place. It works on the waterline too and although it is not waterproof, it holds up well. This eyeliner really changed my mind about wearing brown eyeliner.

Topshop products are available at Topshop stores (in Chicago, New York and Las Vegas), some Nordstrom stores, and us.topshop.com. Or, you could try praying to the Patron Saint of Makeup Gifts, the modern day Saint Maria Goretti, and maybe something wonderful will end up in your mailbox…

Have a beautiful day 🙂

Leave a Reply

