The Ultimate Beauty Trick

I have to tell you about this awesome beauty trick. You’re going to love it. It’s ancient and hasn’t changed at all since the beginning of time. It solves a plethora of beauty problems, anyone can get it and it is free. Are you ready to find out what it is?

It’s called SLEEP.

Yes, that elusive full night’s slumber can make a world of difference in how your face looks. Your body requires sleep, so when you skimp on it, your skin tells the world. Now, I know we don’t all have enough time to get a good, solid shut-eye session. I recently spent three weeks working on a film, averaging about six hours of sleep per night. And I know many new parents who would consider six hours of sleep to be a vacation! My personal full night’s sleep meter is set at eight hours (which I find to be necessary for my 12-14 hour work days), so when I dip much below that for more than three or four nights, I feel it–and my face shows it.

If you can’t get enough sleep because of a baby or a job or schoolwork, the best I can do is hope that things change for you soon! Sleep deprivation is no joke. But if you are just staying up watching your DVR’d shows, partying until dawn or re-arranging your bedroom at 1:00am (I have been guilty of all of those things at some point), then maybe reconsider your choices.

Here are some things I’ve noticed on myself and clients who haven’t slept enough.

1) Puffy Eyelids. I’m not talking puffy undereye bags, I mean the actual eyelid. This makes some eyeshadows look weird and can make it hard to apply even eyeliner at the top lashline. Solution: Avoid logging onto Pinterest at 11:00pm. You know no one can pin for just a few minutes.

2) Fine Lines. Fine lines on the forehead and around the mouth and eyes become more pronounced when you haven’t slept enough. Makeup loves to get up into those fine lines and  chill there, which immediately makes you look older. Solution: Put that page turner away. Chapters 5 through 25 can wait.

3) Undereye Circles. Ah, everyone’s favorite–dark circles. When you skimp on sleep, your body produces more cortisol, which enlarges the blood vessels under your eyes. Those blood vessels can be seen through the thin undereye skin, which is the darkness that we see as “circles”. Solution: Turn off the Real Housewives marathon. I can tell you what happens–there is a giant fight at a dinner party/vacation/baptism. People get crazy eyes, hair extensions get tangled and ridiculous insults are thrown. By the end of the episode, you feel like you may have gone down a few IQ points.

4) Dull Skin. If you’re not getting enough sleep, your skin cells are robbed of their prime regenerating time, which makes your skin look dull. You may even look pale or sallow. Especially if you only have the average 10 minutes to do your makeup, you’re not going to be able to look healthy and fresh-faced like you would if you slept. Solution: Don’t be the last one to leave the bar or party. Your skin (and possibly your liver) will thank you for it in the morning.

I have no doubt that a normal, consistent sleep routine plays a major part in how your skin looks. If you can’t always do it (I know I certainly can’t!) I have found that even a 20 minute power nap can work wonders. So try to get it in when you can and you will absolutely notice a difference.

Have a beautiful day 🙂

Leave a Reply

