Product Review: Laura Mercier Lip Glace

Finding the perfect lip gloss is like the quest for the Holy Grail. I think I speak for many people when I say that all we really want out of life is a lip gloss that is pretty, pigmented, long-lasting, not goopy (that’s the technical term), non-sticky, non-drying and doesn’t smell like burnt plastic. That is a tall order and the reason why I constantly try new lip glosses.

I have a few of the Laura Mercier Lip Glace glosses in my kit and while they might not be the Holy Grail, they are solid fo sho’.  Here’s how I think they stack up on my ratings scale.

The Pretty Factor: This is a preference thing because everyone has certain colors that they like and certain colors they would never wear. So I think a product line that has a lot of options ranks high in this part of the competition. There are currently 28 Lip Glace shades–a more than respectable number. So I’ll give them a 10 out of 10 for this one.

The Pigment Factor: Some people like a super sheer lip gloss, but I’ve found most want a gloss that has a decent amount of pigment. Buying a super sheer gloss can sometimes feel like you are not getting enough product for the price. The Lip Glace glosses have, in my humble opinion, a near perfect amount of pigment. There is enough color payoff to be visible but they are not as opaque as a liquid lipstick. I give them a 9 out of 10 here.

The Longevity Factor: Have you ever been ghosted by someone you liked? What about by a lip gloss? You put it on, it’s there and then it disappears without even a halfass text. The nerve! When I apply a lip gloss, I want it to stay in place for at least an hour or two. The Lip Glace glosses are pretty good at sticking around. They are not superstars in this category, but they are also not the kind to bounce after five minutes. This ties into the stickyness factor, which I will get to. I give them a 7 out of 10 here.

The Goopy Factor: There are glosses that slip and slide and glosses that lay it on thick. I’ve yet to find anyone who likes a thick gloss. I don’t find the Lip Glace glosses to be thick but after reading several reviews I know that some people do, so I will give it an 8 out of 10. I realize that I may have more of a tolerance for a gloss that is a little thick because I know that means its longevity and pigment will be stronger, but I understand that not everyone thinks that way.

The Stickyness Factor: Sticky icky icky, right? (You with me, Snoop?) Most people agree that sticky glosses are not comfortable to wear and God forbid you do so when your hair is down. The thing is, the ingredient that makes a gloss sticky is, as far as I can tell, the same one that makes a gloss long-lasting. So, are the Lip Glasses glosses sticky? A little bit, but not overpoweringly so. I give it an 8 out of 10 here.

The Drying Factor: It doesn’t matter how otherwise fantastic a gloss is–if it dries your lips out, you probably don’t want it. I’ve experienced this with so many lip glosses that I almost expected it to happen with the Lip Glace glosses. But it didn’t! Good work, Glaces. 10 out of 10.

The Scent: I’m not big on heavily scented products, which I think is the case with the majority of people. The Lip Glaces glosses definitely have a scent, although I wouldn’t call it overpowering. I think they smell like a smoothie made with vanilla and cardboard. The scent is not horribly offensive unless you hate the smell of vanilla (or strangely, cardboard) but I wouldn’t say it is appealing either. So I’ll go right down the middle and give it a 5.

Overall Rating: All things considered, I give this product an 8. That’s right–I know how to do math and get an average.

I think the Lip Glace glosses are a good buy for any personal makeup bag or pro kit. You know I wouldn’t lead you astray.

Have a beautiful day 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

