A Little Bit Of This, A Little Bit Of That: Part 1

As a makeup artist/product junkie, I get a lot of samples. And while sometimes I can tell a lot by a sample, I often need more product to make a judgment call. So I will attempt to do sample blogs whenever I can to share what I have learned about the products. I’ll compile a bunch of mini-reviews and we’ll go from there. Sound good?

(When I went to review all of the samples that had piled up in my house, I realized the post would be too long, so I’ll have to split it up.)

Sample 1: Ole Henricksen Truth Revealed Super Creme SPF 15

I’ve never bought a full sized Ole product, but I always love trying them. This face creme is light but moisturizing and it doesn’t get sticky or leave a residue. It also smells strongly like Necco Wafers, which is odd…but not bad (at least in my book). It’s an anti-aging creme and contains collagen boosting micro algae, wrinkle fighting tripeptide-5 and omega 3 “happiness concentrate.” So maybe it’s not Necco Wafers I smell, it’s happiness. Some might say it’s the same thing (and by “some”, I mean Necco Wafer fanatics).

It’s $65 for a 1.7 oz jar, so I think this one is somewhat of a splurge for most people. But happiness (concentrate) in a jar? You can’t put a price tag on that.

Sample 2: Shiseido Refining Makeup Primer

I’m a big fan of makeup primers, especially for those with oily or seasonally oily (me, from June until October) skin. Oils from the skin are quick to break down any face makeup, but primers step up and say “Oh, no you don’t!” So if it looks like you have no face makeup on by about 2:00pm every day, you may want to try a primer.

Should you try this one? Well…I didn’t love it. The primer is pink, which I found a little strange. Pink based foundations can make the skin look mask-like or, well, pink, so the primer color concerned me. Pink is not a color corrector (like green is for redness in the skin) so I’m not sure why they chose pink. The Shiseido website said the color of the primer is flattering on every skintone but in my experience, that’s not accurate.

I applied the primer to my slightly sunkissed skin and it washed me out. It pretty much turned white and muted my tan, which I didn’t like. My skin color looked okay once I put my foundation on, but the primer did make me look a little paler than I was. The product looks like Calamine lotion, and strangely even smells like it. It feels heavy going onto the skin, which did not yield the smoothest application, but it does absorb fairly quickly. As far as length of wear, my makeup stayed on slightly longer than without a primer. It’s not a horrible product, but I can think of other primers I’d recommend first.

Sample 3: Benefit The POREfessional

This lightweight peachy-beige cream claims to minimize the appearance of pores, and it does. It’s an instant mattifier and it absorbs before you can say “I need some powder.” The formula is silky smooth and has that same scent that many Benefit products have. I can’t pinpoint it, but I know I would identify it in a blind beauty product scent test (I’m sure those happen all the time). I like this pore minimizer so much that I am going to buy the full sized one! That’s big time.

Sample 4: DDF Advanced Firming Cream

As with many anti-aging products, this cream is probably something you’d have to use for a while to see results. The product description says you will see instant anti-aging results. So I applied it, walked out to my kitchen and then back to the mirror and nope, still looked my age.

The first thing I noticed about this cream was how “natural” it smells. I go to a homeopathic/Eastern medicine doctor and this cream smelled like his office. To me, that’s a good thing. Many people who have allergies to pollen, trees, flowers, etc. also have reactions to beauty products that contain natural ingredients, but I’m not one of them. So while products like this may not be the best for some people, I like them.

The cream felt somewhat thick but absorbed quickly. No residue, no stickiness, nothing weird. And it made my skin SO SOFT. That’s the instant effect I saw/felt. I don’t know what ingredient or mix of ingredients did it, but my skin felt like silk after.

At $130 for a 1.7 oz jar, you might look young, but your bank account might look empty. Good tradeoff, says this beauty junkie.

All of these products can be purchased at Sephora.

That’s all for now! Have a beautiful day 🙂

2 thoughts on “A Little Bit Of This, A Little Bit Of That: Part 1

Leave a Reply

