Pinch Me, I Must Be Dreaming

I grew up with a lot of dream jobs.  Interior decorator, personal organizer, small business owner (I was a strange child), teacher, event planner…I could go on.  But it wasn’t until my mid-twenties that I realized I could take doing makeup, one of my passions and turn it into a career.  Yes, it took me a while to come to that realization, but I’m so glad I did.

If I’m not doing a makeup job, I’m watching a tutorial, blogging, researching new trends and products, or experimenting on myself.  I literally dream about lipsticks and new color combinations and I can’t look around a room or even outside without getting inspired by colors or textures.  My life is covered in makeup and I love it.

It’s a great feeling when a bill is less than I expected it to be, or I find a the perfect dress to wear to a wedding. I enjoy going to see a funny movie, or getting in a good run.  But nothing compares to the feeling I get when I’ve done someone’s makeup and they look in the mirror and say “Oh my God, I love it!”

When I’m doing makeup, I do not think of anything else.  I’ve done makeup with viral bronchitis, a broken heart and during other times of personal stress.  During one wedding job, I damn near knocked a toenail off.  But I never felt or thought of any of that while I was doing makeup.  I couldn’t if I wanted to.  I get into the zone, where I’m so focused on making someone look their best or look the part that I literally can not think of anything else.

When I leave a wedding, photoshoot, or film knowing that the clients are 100% happy with my work, I’m on a high.  It makes me feel good professionally but also personally. I find it hard not to take people’s reactions personally.  When you create something, it’s personal.  When I can successfully take someone’s vision, get it into my head and get the results they are looking for, there is no better feeling.

I haven’t done this alone though.  I’m extremely grateful for all that referrals that I receive from clients, friends and family.  I’m also thankful for people in the industry like Joe Rossi and Jennie Kay Plumb who have helped me along the way.  I’m working my dream job and a combination of talent, skills, luck, and great business contacts got me there.

I can’t imagine not doing makeup, so I’m looking forward to many more makeup-covered years in this business.

Have a beautiful day 🙂

2 thoughts on “Pinch Me, I Must Be Dreaming

  1. Love this blog! Speaks to me without a doubt. I noticed after working at a desk job for 10 years that I was beginning to develop aches and pains that I had never had before. Yes some of it was age but most of it was stress from a job I had grown tired of. After getting let go due to company downsizing I went off on my own and started Robert Hare Photography. On my very first shoot I noticed that the pain I had grown all too accustom to had vanished. It wasn’t that it was gone for good – I just was doing what I loved and the pain no longer registered when I was pursuing my passion. Great piece Allison.

    Rob

    • And that’s a lot, coming from a guy who holds up crazy heavy cameras for hours at a time!

      I love that you totally get what I’m saying. That’s why we’re a good team! We could be getting attacked and we’d still rock out any photoshoot 🙂

Leave a Reply

